Week 5 – A little Fun, A lot of Overwhelm…

I never realized until this week how long and how often I put off what I really want for what other people want, or I think I “should” do.  This week I find myself working very hard and still feeling like I can’t possibly get everything done!  You see, my house is on the market right now and there is so much pressure these days to make it look as “UN-lived-in” as possible,  The real estate gurus had advised us to remove all family pictures, half of our furniture and replace the floors downstairs. So we did.  And we thought it looked great. But in this  so-called “sellers market,” ours had been on MLS for two weeks with only two showings and no offers…OH NO!!!   So my daughter and I painted three rooms to make them look new again, and then I consulted with a top RE agent on what could be the reason for the lack of interest. “Price too high” was his first, last, and final word.  But how is that possible when the price compares favorably to other similar homes in the neighborhood?  Ahem, well he showed me the MLS pictures, and I had to agree (it just doesn’t seem nearly so bad in person!) . Apparently my new floor clashes with the color of the kitchen, there is STILL too much furniture in the living room, the faded red trim  on the outside of the house is too pink, Several rooms need to be re-painted a more “neutral” color, AND we had to lower the price by twenty-five thousand dollars…

So, what does all this have to do with my MKMMA experience?  Working 50+ hours a week and maintaining the house I could probably handle all the MKMMA stuff, but add painting, removing furniture, daily chores, etc etc. and I did a huge CRASH and BURN!

Honestly, I don’t know if I’ll be able to continue.  I haven’t kept up all the reading, reciting and  I even waited until today to print out the workbook.  When I did the reading, my enthusiasm was really sub-par…and that’s the point.  The point where I just give up. Usually.

NO I say! No giving up! I’m telling myself I can still do it.  My watchman at the gate won’t give in to subby.  Subby thinks I’m a quitter.  But I’m not.  I can get right back up on that darn MKMMA horse and whip his butt until he behaves…or at least do my very best.  So I’m going to forgive myself for the past.  Nothing can change it.  I forgive myself, I love myself. I will celebrate Halloween just a little and not feel the least bit guilty about it. After that, I will do my best and I will succeed.

I do my best and I am successful.

I did my best and succeeded.

I feel like a cheerleader:  “GO SUBBY, GO!”

Goodnight my dear Masterminders, sleep well.

5 thoughts on “Week 5 – A little Fun, A lot of Overwhelm…

  1. master-key-jay-z

    I think this week is the telling week in MKMMA. I know exactly what you are talking about here. It has been the same for me. Getting everything done that “needs” to get done, plus all the added reading and stuff in MKMMA! It seems like overload. I did notice however towards the end of the week that the load seemed more tolerable. Hang in there. You can do it! Remember, the promise wasn’t an easy trip, just that the journey would be worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Camille

    WOO HOO!! I agree with Marilyn!! A good offer is yours to accept! And so it is! You recognize what your subby wants and you know what you want, so kick subby out the door! In fact leave subby at your old house. You are a bud that is ready to open, your new place is where you’ll blossom!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

